

Bulletin

Congratulations to the DM / RTW Professionals for 2014





The President of the Canadian Society of Professionals in Disability Management, Judy Geary, CDMP, is extending her sincere congratulations to the individuals from across Canada who successfully passed the 2014 examinations.

Congratulations! You are now part of a leading edge and growing international body of certified return to work and disability management professionals. In achieving the professional designations, you have demonstrated a high level of professional competence, practical experience and operational knowledge in the field of disability management and return to work. You have the opportunity to make an important contribution to the social and economic well being of persons with disabilities; help employers to reduce absence costs and follow a best practice model to fulfill their responsibilities to their disabled employees; and be a more effective practitioner.

The International Disability Management Standards Council (IDMSC), which oversees and promotes the occupational standards of our profession, now has members from 12 countries. The adoption of these standards by organizations and governments in so many countries reflects the increased priority that disability management and return to work is taking across the globe.

Supporting the long-term educational and research needs of this rapidly developing field of professional practice will be through the Pacific Coast University for Workplace Health Sciences (PCU-WHS) established in 2007 in a Statute through the unanimous support of the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia. PCU-WHS opens to students in September 2014 to offer the world's first Bachelor of Disability Management under the consent of the minister. This program may be of interest to aspiring professionals who wish to pursue this as a first or second degree. The course outlines were informed by a renowned international group of academics, researchers, and practitioners as well as representatives of other relevant stakeholders in order to ensure its comprehensiveness and relevance to our fast changing workplace environment.

In addition, PCU-WHS will also be offering an Advanced Certificate in Return to Work which will be of interest to those who already have a degree, or who are experienced practitioners who wish to achieve advanced credential status.

Another exciting development in our field is the creation of return to work guidelines at the International Social Security Association (ISSA). The IDMSC and NIDMAR were consulted in the development, and signed a Memorandum of Understanding with ISSA to collaborate on their promotion and dissemination for effective disability management and return to work programs. The ISSA return to work guidelines are expected to support the creation of new or improved programs in ISSA's 338-member organizations in 159 countries, including Canada.

Your professional accreditation is thus a valuable and widely recognized qualification. The learning journey you've been on, and writing the examination, have been challenging, and I trust rewarding, now and into the future.

Again, congratulations, and welcome to the Canadian Society of Professionals in Disability Management (www.cspdm.ca), which will support you via our website, opportunities to network and exchange experiences, continuing education information and offerings, as well as career opportunities.



Bulletin

Congratulations to:

Steve Archambault Dawn Lawrence Misbah Arshad Katrina M. Leonard Jagdeep Atwal Tracy Lewis-Currie Michelle E. Baker Diane Lucas Harleen Bhullar Meaghan E. Lyall Lynn C. Budd Anik Marchand Geoff Buxton Christine D. McAleese Samuel Cervantes Pankaj Misra

Natalie Cherryholme Erin E. Mitchell-Hancock

Cynthia Chiang Jocelyn Morris Tara Clabby Inès S. Mourant

Eliza Davis Marianne E. Muller-Bamford

Christine Domish Alison K. Nobbs Sydney E. H. Downey Rod Owen

Samina S. Esmail
Patricia Farrington
Cynthia Firlotte
Wayne J. A. Gale
Rachelle L. M. Gregoire
Ann Mario L. Gyldonbiora
Shindy Randhawa
Michèle M. Rankin
Shannon Shapka
Christine Smeth

Ann-Marie L. Gyldenbjerg Christi Smith
Carla-Ann Harrison Maria Sousa
Janet Henry Ulpia Stephens
Patricia Herechuk Kimberley St. Vincent
Brendan T. Hickey Barbara Taylor

Nicole Houzon Patricia Tillotson Heather Jagger Jade K. Tran Karen Kennedy Asami Tsuda

Leanne Koolage Dinah J. VanLandeghem Anastasia Kovios Corinne Vanuden

Anastasia Kovios Corinne Vanuden Elizabeth Krupa Aletta Visser Francis Carbonu Kwawu Tara White

Kim LaFleche Anita D. Woolman Leanne E. Landry Shannon Zikovitz